## United Faculty of Ohlone Minutes from Executive Committee meeting held at Ohlone College, Fremont, Room 7102 23 October 2017 at 2 p.m.

### Present:

Rob Smedfjeld, President Darren L. Bardell, Vice President Ralph Ballart, Secretary Susan Myers, Negotiations Chair Jennifer Harper, CEER Committee Chair Heather McCarty, Full-time Rep at Large (via Zoom) Ray Buyco, Part-time Rep at Large (via Zoom)

#### Absent:

Isabel Reichert, Web Master Janice Jones, Treasurer

## **PROCEEDINGS:**

Call to order: Meeting was called to order by Rob at 2:03 p.m.

Meeting Agenda. Rob emailed the agenda on October 15; a copy of the agenda is also on the UFO website.

1. Approval of Minutes

The UFO meeting minutes from the September 11, 2017 meeting were unanimously approved (Heather motion, Ray second). Isabel will post this document on the UFO web site.

2. Tentative Agreement

Susan reviewed the tentative agreement (TA). Items discussed included the new part-time faculty salary schedule, part-time reemployment preference, full-time faculty pay increase, and the full-time medical stipend. There was also a discussion of pay vs. class size.

The TA was unanimously approved (Heather motion, Darren second); Janice voted by email. The TA will be submitted to a faculty vote for approval.

3. Election Plan

Heather, Isabel and Darren were the appointed members of the election committee. Heather reviewed the election plans. Election Runner is planned for the online election with a single email initial ballot for both the TA and UFO officer election. Candidate statements were due in one week and the election was planned for the period November 3 (6 am) until November 9 (9 pm). The candidates are: UFO President: Carmen Madden, Rob Smedfjeld UFO Vice President: Nolan Higdon, Wayne Yuen, Becky Ozoa UFO Treasurer: Janice Jones, Rick Flynn UFO Secretary: Ralph Ballart, Jeff O'Connell, Teresa Massimo UFO Negotiations Chair: Jim Andrews, Susan Myers CEER Chair: Jennifer Harper UFO Full-time Rep: Jeff Roberts UFO Part-time Rep: Ray Buyco, Marie Ver Haar Griffin

See Appendix A below for the post-meeting election results.

4. CEER

Jennifer reviewed the September 8 CEER meeting. Some of the items discussed included part-time office hours, pay issues, absence report form review, use of social media by faculty, and flex week department vs. division meetings.

- Faculty Issue (Closed session) Rob reviewed the status of an administration investigation into a student complaint against a faculty member.
- 6. Next Meeting

The next meeting is scheduled for November 20. (Post-meeting update: the meeting was canceled because there was no need for an in-person meeting.)

The meeting was adjourned at 4 pm

Respectfully submitted, Ralph Ballart, UFO Secretary

#### **Appendix A: Election Results**

6 am November 3 – 9 pm November 9, 2017 Election Results (via Heather email November 9): <u>**TA:** Approved</u> Yes: 134 votes No: 129 votes

#### UFO President: Carmen Madden

Carmen Madden: 142 votes Rob Smedfjeld: 117 votes

#### UFO Vice President: Run off between Nolan Higdon and Wayne Yuen

Nolan Higdon: 113 votes Wayne Yuen: 101 votes Becky Ozoa: 40 votes

#### UFO Treasurer: Janice Jones

Janice Jones: 133 votes Rick Flynn: 121 votes

#### UFO Secretary: Run off between Ralph Ballart and Jeff O'Connell

Ralph Ballart: 114 votes Jeff O'Connell: 108 votes Teresa Massimo: 33 votes

#### UFO Negotiations Chair: Jim Andrews

Jim Andrews: 166 votes Susan Myers: 88 votes

## CEER Chair: Jennifer Harper Jennifer Harper: 216 votes

Teresa Massimo: 3 votes

#### UFO Full-Time Rep: Jeff Roberts

Jeff Roberts: 154 votes Teresa Massimo: 76 votes Heather McCarty: 2 votes Jim Andrews: 1 vote

## UFO Part-Time Rep: Ray Buyco

Ray Buyco: 155 votes Marie Ver Haar Griffin: 100 votes Lenore Landavazo: 1 vote On November 11, Heather reported to the faculty via email that the UFO Constitution requires a runoff election when no candidate achieves a majority.

Runoff 1: 6 am November 13, 2007 – 9 pm November 17, 2007 Election Results (via Heather email November 17, 2007)

UFO VP: Nolan Higdon

Nolan Higdon: 127 Wayne Yuen: 91

#### UFO Secretary: TBD

Ralph Ballart: 110 Jeff O'Connell: 110

As reported by Heather in her email of November 17, the tie for the UFO Secretary position required a runoff election to be held.

Runoff 2: 3:30 pm November 17, 2007 – Noon November 22, 2007 Election Results (via Heather email on November 22)

## UFO Secretary: TBD

Ralph Ballart: 123 Jeff O'Connell: 123

Heather emailed the faculty on November 26 giving the dates for the third runoff election.

Runoff 3: 6 am November 27, 2007 – 6 pm November 29, 2017 Election results (via Heather email on November 29)

# UFO Secretary: Ralph Ballart

Ralph Ballart: 153 Jeff O'Connell: 122